Republic of Austria

Austria is a democratic republic. The state territory is composed of nine federal states. Vienna is the country's capital city and the seat of the supreme federal authorities. Austria has been a member of the European Union since 1995. Austria has a surface area of 83,878 km² and 8,822,267 inhabitants (population census: January 1, 2018), including 1,395,880 foreign citizens (15.8% of the total population). On average in 2017, around 1.97 million people with a migrant background lived in Austria (= 22.8% of the total population).
Austria's neighboring countries are Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia and Italy.

The Central European transitional climate is characteristic of Austria, that is: warm summers, cold winters and sufficient rainfall. Within Austria, two climatic regions can be distinguished:
The east is dominated by the Pannonian climate (warm to hot summers, relatively low rainfall and cold winters). The Alpine regions are influenced by the Alpine climate (more rainfall in the summer than in the east and long snowy winters).

The official language of Austria is German. In individual regions, Croatian, Slovenian and Hungarian are recognized as the official languages of the autonomous ethnic groups.
English is taught as the first foreign language in most schools.

Culture and religion
In Austria, there is a dense network of various private clubs and associations (culture, sports and social etc.). Information about clubs and associations can be obtained, for example, from the local authorities or municipal authorities (city administrative authorities) as well as the homepage of the Federal Ministry of the Interior.
Vienna has already been voted "Metropolis with the highest quality of life in the world" several times in a row (Mercer study).
In Austrian culture there are many references to the centuries-long Catholic tradition. However, everyday life and legislation are secular. Social cohesion and tolerance have a high priority in Austrian society.
There is freedom of religion in Austria. According to a census in 2001, the majority of the Austrian population is Catholic (around three quarters), followed by people of no religious confession, as well as Protestants, Muslims and Orthodox Christians.
International dialing code
230 V, Austrian plug sockets (adapters are available in all electrical shops)


Helpful Links:
Austria Tourism
Der Reiseführer
Leben in Österreich
Vorarlberg Travel

Border / Customs


Austria is a member state of the European Union (EU). When traveling to Austria, customs regulations and formalities are generally determined by the following:

  • Whether you are travelling from a member state of the European Union or from a non-EU country and
  • Whether your place of residence is in an EU country (EU resident) or in a non-EU country (non-EU resident).

Further details on the movement of goods can be found at and free movement of goods in the EU.